Paid Account Features

Upgrading to a Paid Account

There are several features of Wakari that free accounts do not include, such as the ability to add nodes and clusters to your account, SSH access, password protection for shared notebooks and bundles, and persistent sessions. These features are described below.

The three types of paid accounts--Basic, Pro, and Premium--differ in the amounts of RAM and storage available as well as in the cost of compute nodes. A Premium account, for example, includes the most RAM and storage and the lowest rates for compute nodes.

You can upgrade your account by navigating to the Billing section of the Settings page. Navigate to the drop-down menu under your username (located in the upper right-hand corner of your Wakari window) and select Settings - Billing. You will be directed to a page that outlines the details of each plan. Note that the prices pictured below are subject to change. The current prices can be found in the Settings section of Wakari.

wakariui

A chart of the different rates for various types of compute nodes can be viewed by selecting view node types and rates from the Extra Compute column of the table on the Billing page. A section of this chart is pictured below (prices may be out-of-date).

wakariui

Once you have decided on the account that best suits your needs, select the corresponding Upgrade button from the table. You will be directed to a page where you can view the billing details and officially subscribe to a paid account. Plan changes are effective immediately.

wakariui

Compute Resources

Wakari provides direct access to virtual compute configurations. You can add a virtually unlimited number of compute nodes to your account.

Wakari provides a range of Amazon AWS instances with the click of a button.

Wakari will also allow you to add multiple nodes and will automatically configure them into an IPcluster.

To add a node/cluster, click on the Add Compute Nodes button on the top bar of the Wakari Window.

wakariui

You will see a dialog box pop up - click Continue to proceed. You will be taken to the Add Node/Cluster section of the Settings page.

wakariui

Another way to get to the Add Node/Cluster section is to go directly to the Settings page using the drop-down menu under your username at the top right-hand side of your Wakari window. Then select Extra Nodes in the side menu on the left.

wakariui

If you have not yet subscribed to a paid account, you will see the following screen with the option to upgrade:

wakariui

Once you have a Billing Plan that supports the Add Node/Cluster feature, you will see the following screen. Click on the Add Node button to add and configure additional nodes.

wakariui

Enter a Node name and the number of nodes you want to add, then select the node type (cost per hour is listed). The nodes will be configured as an IPython cluster. Note: PRICES SUBJECT TO CHANGE

wakariui

wakariui

Once you've configured the nodes you want to add, click Add Node.

wakariui

In this example, two nodes are requested. Once Add Node is clicked, you would see the following screen.

wakariui

Additional charges typically apply when adding nodes. You will begin being charged once you receive an email that the node has been started. You will stop being charged once you hit the terminate button. You can create more nodes by clicking Add Node again.

SSH Access

With a paid account, you can use SSH from your local computer to connect to any Wakari node. The first step is to add your SSH keys to Wakari.

In Wakari navigate to Username menu (top right-hand corner) and select Settings - SSH Keys

wakariui

wakariui

You will be directed to a page that contains detailed instructions for generating an SSH key and the option to add your key.

wakariui

Once you have added your SSH keys, you can SSH to any Wakari node from a local terminal

In Wakari navigate to the Username menu (top right corner) - SSH Access

wakariui

Password Protection

Persistent Sessions

In the upper left-hand corner of your Wakari window, you will find a white bar containing the words Auto Shutdown. This bar shows you which mode your Wakari session is operating in.

wakariui

When you log on to Wakari, a new "session" is created or you are attached to an existing session that was created from a previous login. Auto Shutdown is the default mode for a Wakari session. Operating in this mode means that after logout or a period of inactivity, the session is terminated and all underlying processes are stopped.

It is possible, however, to keep a session alive continuously, even between logins. Wakari paid accounts allow users to set their session to Keep Alive mode, in which the session will not be shut down during an idle period or at logout. This means that jobs will continue to run until they complete, which is ideal for jobs that may take a significant amount of time to run. You can start the job, log off, and then return later to check your results.

In Keep Alive mode, your session will stay active until you switch it back to Auto Shutdown mode. It is important to remember that this means your account will continue to be charged until you log in and switch your session back to Auto Shutdown mode. The hourly rate for a persistent session depends on the type of account plan you have. The current persistent session hourly rates for each type of account can be found on the table on the Billing page.

You can switch modes by clicking on the white bar and selecting Enable Session Keep Alive from the drop-down menu.

wakariui

If you have not yet upgraded your account, you will see this dialog box. Select Upgrade Your Plan to be directed to the Billing page.

wakariui

If your account has been upgraded, this dialog box will pop up. Select Enable to switch your session to Keep Alive mode.

wakariui

Select Learn More from the drop-down menu for more information about Auto Shutdown and Keep Alive mode.

wakariui